It was November 2014 when Rupi Kaur self-published her first collections titled ‘Milk and Honey’, a collection of poems and prose about struggles and life. The collection is divided into four chapters: the hurting, the loving, the breaking, and the healing which individually denotes the author’s experience in love, loss, pain, and recovery.

 

NOTABLE PASSAGES:

I honestly prefer every poem and prose written on this book as notable because they really are. Every single line denotes Kaur’s deep emotions. It almost as if the poem was meant for me, as if I was struggle the same or as if I’ve experienced the same.

 

WHAT I LOVED ABOUT THIS BOOK:

I loved the fact that this book is self-published. Before, I thought self-published books couldn’t make it to the market.  I thought people only turn their attention to books from well-known publishers and that if your book doesn’t belong there, people might just ditch them. I don’t want that to happen. I want my future book to be read by people. Rupi Kaur has enlightened me, given me courage to just keep on doing what I love, expect less and simply, see the outcome.

I don’t know why Kaur didn’t prefer to have a publisher or maybe like me, she doesn’t have the courage to try sending her manuscript. Her reasons may vary and it’s okay. Consequently, when Milk and Honey became a success, it leads her to Andrew McMeel publishing releasing it under their name on October 2015.

 

Overall, just like what I’ve mentioned on my preferred notable passages, I loved every single thing in this book: the illustrations which are personally illustrated by her, the lines, its structure and the plain black cover of this book.

STAY.jpeg

 

DO I WANT TO SEE THIS ON BIG-SCREEN?

The idea of violence, loss, heartbreak, how an individual survives all of those pains is definitely a good concept for people to watch. I don’t know how they are going to create an adaptation of this, maybe a theatre musical or a theatre acts will do since it’s a collection of prose and poems. Yes, I’d love to see it on big-screen.

 

WILL I RECOMMEND THIS BOOK TO ALL AGES?

No. The concept is too mature for very young readers. I think they could just tell what this book is all about in a simple and nice way, in that way, they will understand the book.

RATINGS: 5 stars for the concept/idea, 4 stars for the plain black cover with honey bees, 5 stars on the contents, various prose and poems.

 

Know more about Rupi Kaur here: https://www.rupikaur.com/

 

Originally posted on Medium: https://medium.com/ceeart/milk-and-honey-written-by-rupi-kaur-bac561426553

