I’ve seen this book a couple of times before it became a television series released on NetFlix. For some reasons, it didn’t catch my attention maybe because that time, I was searching a specific book which was urgently needed. Now, it has been one of the most anticipated adaptations. It was released on March 31, 2017 and here I am flooded by everyone’s commentary, friends asking me to check it out or give the book a shot to read which lead me to go ahead, try and just watch the series though first of all, I do not have an account on NetFlix (probably my №1 problem here).

The book was written by Jay Asher which was published under RazorBill. The story revolved around how Hannah Baker, a high school student, life has ended. In the book, the story is told from the perspective of Clay Jensen, Hannah’s classmate who has been in love with her through numerous flashbacks from the cassette tapes that has been anonymously dropped on his doorstep. Each tape states the reasons why she committed suicide, which also includes the people behind the trigger to do so. Before the tapes arrived on Clay’s mail, they were also sent to those particular people.

So basically, the book is about teenage lives, a definitely awareness to some that do the same or shared the same experience of Hannah Baker, who has been ruined by the detrimental emerging “youth”, Hannah was abused, physically, mentally and emotionally by the people within her school. This is not an odd- happening, right? You could possible witness the same scenario anywhere most especially in your school or at home. Out of curiosity, I’ve read reviews about the book, among all of them; I find this review on-point or enlightening especially to people like neither me who haven’t watched nor read the book yet.

This review was taken from Goodreads. Credits to the rightful person.
Continuation of the featured review.

 

Indeed, Thirteen Reasons Why is both a must-read and watched but why I haven’t done so?

Three things;

First, I am currently reading a popular contemporary novel which already had its movie adaptation in 2009, The Time traveler’s Wife which was written by Audrey Niffenegger in 2003. The movie left a bitter-sweet feels in me and I’m in the midst of comparison whether the book will also do the same. What are the events that didn’t make it to its adaptation? Surely, there were some or maybe a few. Who knows? I am adamantly curious that I couldn’t abandon this book for a while just because I got intrigued with a controversial book. It definitely can wait till I finished this book. It doesn’t matter if I get to watched 13 Reasons Why when the hype is over, abandoning books that I’ve began reading is not my thing.

Second, (Sure, you’ll find this a shallow or a lame reason) as what I’ve mentioned earlier, I don’t have a NetFlix account. I don’t usually watch on it because I don’t know, I’m not interested? Or maybe I just got use to watch in YouTube. Sorry.

And lastly, I haven’t tried watching 13 Reasons Why also because like Hannah Baker, I am depressed. Not because of school matters but due to random late night thoughts, every day stuffs, everything. I can’t tell you specifically my countless reasons why because even I don’t know where to start. I am okay, the thoughts of ending my life doesn’t pop out of mind. It did before, but I do not have the courage to do so because just like the others, I’m afraid. I’m afraid of the amount of blood that will come out rushing through my skin. I’m afraid of what will happen next. Reading has been a good therapy for me and somehow, I slowly forget what I was anxious about. Slowly but at least it helps. Even if The Time Traveler’s Wife turned out to be a boring book that would lead me to stop reading it, I wouldn’t mind watching 13 Reasons Why,now that I also heard, how Hannah Baker killed herself will be portrayed.

It is a good book, television series but I’m afraid. I will be watching it but not this time, not till I recover and get a little better.

Originally posted on medium.com: https://medium.com/ceeart/why-i-wanted-to-watch-13-reasons-why-and-yet-i-havent-done-so-8e27654f7fe2

