Being an early bird in certain matters isn’t a newly researched habit, it is no longer new to our knowledge. In fact, some people has developed this practice because it is said that it reflects you as a professional person and that you simply respects the time of the person you’re meeting. In this case, what if you’re a certified book nerd and you find yourself an hour or two earlier than your meeting, what are the things that keeps on bugging your mind, telling you to do this and that, though you already know the possible outcome once you give in to that temptation. Let me share mine.

As far as I’m enjoying myself being a bookworm and an early bird at the same time, there are absolutely things, few ones that I could not stand holding in not only because this two sometimes does not complement but I happen to realized that it is both insanely ridiculous and quite amazing in a way that it hurts a particular part of my being—My self-discipline.

When you’re an early bird you always … and have the need to…

  • The need to stop yourself from getting inside a bookstore because you know yourself too much to just let it be. BOOKS, PLENTY OF BOOKS, BROKE  AHEAD. 
  • Not being aware of the time you have spent from reading in a cafeteria a couple of walks away from your destination. (You couldn’t stop yourself from being pissed off because of the wasted effort you did to complete your OOTD—the make-up and hairdo)
  • Look for newly opened bookstores or nearby bookstores to look for the book that you’ve been searching for since then. Who knows they might have it, after all, you know for a fact that you have time to spend while waiting.

Bloo's_jaw_drop

  • Stop-by at a craft store because you remember your baby (the books–that’s what I call them) needs a new bookmark. Sometimes we’re just so spendthrift that even if our current bookmarks are still good, we just feel the urge to buy a new one.
  • When you decided to stop by in a book store because you swore to yourself (You even kept a pledge) that you won’t buy anything because you’re quite broke you’ll just read and check the new books but you ended up BUYING. But you’re happy, right? Does being disappointed still make sense? Nope, not at all.
  • When you chose to read for the meantime while eating your favorite reading partner snack. (RIP, Pennies) Time out for the budgeting, it is time to treat myself. I’ve been working so hard these few days. (My all-time favorite guilt killer.)

ron-eating-and-reading.gif

And lastly, you’re definitely torn between what you are supposed to do (your meeting, plans on that day) and wanting to continue reading especially when they’re both interesting. So tell me, how hard is that to resist?

I suddenly began to think of being on time instead so I could hinder myself from thinking about those temptations. Indeed, an early bird is impressive but in my case, I might get myself broke very soon.

What about you? Do we have the same hardships on being early bird and a bookworm at the same time? If not, share yours below. I’d be glad to read them as well.

