One of my favorite Korean dishes that I haven’t got to taste yet is Tteokboki and Samgyupsal. According to the traditional Korean dish, Samgyupsal is said to be a popular meat dish which consists of thick and fatty pork strips that are usually neither marinated nor seasoned. It is typically served with ssamjang (a thick, spicy paste), vegetables and lettuce to wrap it in while on the other hand, Tteokboki is made from soft rice cake, fish cake combined with sweet red chili sauce called gochujang (red chili paste). They both seem too delicious to eat but I haven’t really tasted them yet.

 

cupbap-tteokboki-credits
Photo credits to the owner.

I have come to realized that Saturday is the best day to experience new things so same with the tour that I have blogged about last week, I am going to share my simple yet savoring experience on Cup Bap, a Korean restaurant at 188 Eulogio Rodriguez Jr. Ave, Bagumbayan in Quezon City.

CupBap is known for their Unlimited Samgyupsal for only P199.00 and aside from that, they also offer some of the all-time favorite Korean noodle dish: Tteokboki, jjampong, jin ramyun, just to name a few and the classic pastas are also there if you would like to time-out from the spicy Korean dishes because Korean dishes are known for their spicy taste. We all know that, right?

cupbap-credits.jpg
Photo credits to the owner.

Okay, so this is actually my first time on CupBap, I did not immediately force myself to try everything on their menu. I only tried the Samgyupsal of course, because it is their main dish, also to test the water first (and I’m craving for it) and the milk tea to satisfy my thirst. I just wanted to try the dish, that’s all. In terms of the Samgyupsal, I really liked it though I was not fully aware of the terms on the side dish in the first place. cupbap-samgyupsalI thought that the entire meal is unlimited they informed me that it wasn’t when I’m asking for another lettuce, I should have been informed in the first place right? The pork strips are quite thick but it doesn’t really matter because I’m okay with that and that’s how it is supposed to be. The lettuce is fresh also; I think it is one of the factors that contribute to their tasty Samgyupsal. Thumbs up to that!

 

On the other hand, the Winter melon Milk tea that I tried is just as good as your typical milk tea, (they offer a variety of choices, so you’ll have more milk tea to choose from). Thanks to the joy of black pearls. I would never enjoy a milk tea without one. They actually have a variety of sinkers: nata de coco and jelly are just one if I’m not mistaken. I prefer the pearl for my milk tea because it fits the taste of it. Cupbap have this so-called “sugar level” wherein you have to choose the sweetness of your milk tea. I want every drink to be as sweet as cherries so I chose the 50% level of sugar. Such a thirst-quencher and absolutely relaxing milk tea.

 

I don’t really have much to say but so far, my experience on CupBap is definitely good that I enjoyed it. I spent a total of P350.00 but it’s undoubtedly worth-it. Let me just suggest these two things at this end.

  • It is good that you have a cycle of kpop music on the shop to make it more Korean-like for the customers. Just to add a variety of songs and music groups, why don’t you try to add Kpop songs from different Kpop groups other than Bigbang? Bigbang is a great group; in fact, they are one of the legends in the Kpop industry. But there are lots of new groups today: BTS, Twice, Seventeen or EXO. Why don’t you pick a song from them and have them played. Aside from their visuals, their songs are also popular that even your approaching customers know it. Just think about that.

 

  • The staff. I suggest it would be better for CupBap if they would train their staffs thoroughly in terms of what they are suppose to do and how they should behave in front of their customers.

    16990320_1871746669747856_1141451292_o.jpg
    The person at the back of that woman in front is one of the staff.

Let me share my experience regarding this. I have dine-in in Cupbap, devoured what I have ordered. Just when I was paying my bill to the cashier, she asked about the “sinkers”, if I ordered as add-ons in my winter melon milk tea then suddenly, I heard her saying “Hindi kasi nililista eh” glaring at the other staff. I was kind of uncomfortable, I was thinking that time, Are they really supposed to be like that, frank and loud? And I also notice the staffs are not in their uniforms, do they have any? Or they just forgot to wear it on that day. The ambiance is enough for me.

I have to suggest and share that because I’m thinking it would be for the betterment of CupBap. Surely, it isn’t only me who has noticed those things and perhaps some have also posted their reviews on CupBap’s page saying the same things.

 

I’m still coming back for more though, however, I’m looking forward for the improvements.

 

 

 

