Ever since I was a kid, I already tasted the savory taste of soda. From Pepsi, Coca-cola, Sprite, Royal to RC Cola, I have proven that there is nothing beats the quench that soda brings. We get used in drinking soda anytime most especially when we are in the midst of weariness, or once we feel thirsty.

sodacans.jpg

Indeed, soda has taken a huge part of our life. However, I’m pretty sure you are all aware with the effects of soda that could bring harm to our body. I have read this article from Doctor Asky wherein it stated eight effects of soda to our body. I find myself astounded with the fact that I should seriously lessen my consumption of soda. I mean, this isn’t the first time that I have read about these effects but now, it worries me because I might end up falling into these following effects:

 

  • Obesity

Let’s admit it, we love how soda satisfies our thirst but did you know that the sugar in sodas is the leading cause of obesity? According to an article from Nutrition Source, Two out of three adults and one out of three children in the United States are overweight or obese, and the nation spends an estimated $190 billion a year treating obesity-related health conditions. Rising consumption of sugary drinks has been a major contributor to the obesity epidemic. However, there are also articles who contradict to this claim saying the majority of added sugars we consume come from the food that we eat (59%) and Soda is responsible for only 41%. Whatever it is, I believe there is nothing wrong in reducing something that is too much. Am I right?

obese.jpg

  • Soda can cause nervous disorders when consumed in high quantities.

Also, according to rodalesorganiclife.com, there is an ingredient called brominated vegetable oil, or BVO that is added to prevent the flavoring of soda from separating from the drink, also it is an industrial chemical used as a flame retardant in plastics. It is also found in other citrus-based soft drinks and sport drinks in which this chemical is said to cause memory loss and nerve disorders when consumed in large quantities. Hence, it is not literally the soda that causes nervous disorders but its ingredients.

Still, this is disturbing.

 

  • This article from Doctor Asky also stated that soda is directly related to kidney problems and kidney stones. I’ve heard of this many times. It is just that soda is very hard to resist so till now I’m addicted to soda. Reduce now, fellas!

stones.jpg

  • If you are a soda drinker, have you ever wondered why your teeth easily decayed? That is because soda contains phosphoric acid that leads to tooth decay. So if I were you, I would practice decreasing the consumption of soda.

 

  • Aside from nervous disorders, high doses of soda can also cause restlessness, tension and insomnia. Hmmm.. Yes, I have insomnia. This is probably one of the factors why I had it.

 

  • Soda can also cause excessive urination. I have observed this after I’ve read this article about soda and this one is proven. Believe me, it is.

 

  • Irregular heartbeats are also one of the effects of soda.

“Researchers examined six other case studies of excessive soda drinkers and found their habits had all resulted in irregular heart function, erratic heartbeats, and, in the case of one patient, death.”, based on an article of Women’s Health Magazine.

 

  • Soda is the leading cause of diabetes and hypertension.

Higher consumption of sugar sweetened beverages [one 250 ml serving per day or higher] was associated with a greater incidence of type 2 diabetes, by 18 percent per one serving/day and 13 percent before and after adjustment for adiposity[i.e. body fat]…(from mercola.com), also due to the caffeine in sodas it also count as factors in causing hypertension.

 

Based on what research says, there are many speculations about soda being harmful to our health. And we are surely aware with it, the question is, can we really commit to ourselves that we will seriously cut back from sodas? Are we really sure that we can resist the thirst-quenching taste that sodas bring to us?

ilove soda.jpg

Since we all love soda, why don’t we just LESSEN the consumption of it? It may sound difficult to do but I think it is better than cutting back away from it, right?

 

For us to be in good health, let’s just do so.

